Bible Reading Day Eight.

by markburlinson

Good morning!
Here is your reminder for Day 8 – you have completed a week!
Today we finish the Sermon on the Mount in Matthew 7.
The teaching of Jesus is so rich isn’t it? We have covered so much ground in the last three days, and today is no different. I have been making notes in my journal of the truths that have challenged me as we have been reading. Often something will challenge me that I already knew, but it has fresh life because we are reading together and fasting. God loves to breathe life into His Word!
I encourage you to make notes too – let God speak to you and write down how He is working in your life. I journal on my computer (using a program called Evernote), but you can use a notebook or a journal just as well.
Today’s reading has so many facets – I wonder which parts will stand out for you? In the heart of the chapter is a principle most of us know (but fewer practise): verse12 – “Do to others whatever you would like them to do to you. This is the essence of all that is taught in the law and the prophets.”
One idea is to read this chapter through the lens of relationship with God: whether dealing with the speck in our own eye before helping others, or listening to Jesus’ words and obeying them, the purpose of all the teaching in this chapter is to draw us into relationship with God through Jesus.
Whatever stands out to you today as you read, I pray we will all be amazed at the authority of Jesus’ teaching (verses 28-29).
Have a great day!
Mark.
P.S. You are welcome to share the link to this blog with a friend or forward the email to them. It’s not too late to sign up!
